February Book Roundup

Something I’ve definitely learned to appreciate during my commutes is the value of a good book. Up until this past summer I was not the type of person to pick up a book and read just for fun, now it’s one of my favorite things to do! I thought it might be fun to do a little round up for you each month of a few books I enjoyed.

  1. “See Me” by Nicholas Sparks

I know, I’m the stereotypical girl falling for a good Nicholas Sparks novel, BUT you have to hear me out on this one! This is not his typical “girl in distress meets the perfect man and they fall in love and live happily ever after”. The main character, Maria, is a beautifully strong, independent, and bad ass chick. She just so happens to meet a fabulous man (Colin), but not without some trials and tribulations along the way. While we certainly see hints of the classic Sparks story line here, its brilliantly hidden under a suspenseful, serious, and tumultuous story of Maria and Colin’s relationship. (I seriously love this book so much I just finished reading it for a second time!)

2. “After You” by Jojo Moyes

This is (IMO) the highly underrated and under advertised sequel to “Me Before You” which was also just made into a full length film released this past May. When “Me Before You” was in theaters I read the book in one whole day and saw the movie that night – I LOVED them both. However, “After You” quickly trumped my latest reads as an all-time favorite. Louisa Clark is the most relatable character in any book I’ve ever read. Moyes does an amazing job of portraying Louisa’s emotions in a raw and realistic way that you can’t help but actually feel like you are experiencing the emotion with her.

3. “The Five People You Meet in Heaven” by Mitch Albom

This one was recommended by a friend and it did not disappoint. Mitch Albom’s writing theme is so far opposite of my usual Nicholas Spark’s reads and that is one of my favorite things about this book. The story starts off by creating the reader’s vision of Eddie – which for me wasn’t all rainbows and butterflies. Eddie comes off as a grumpy old man who is too stuck in his ways to actually see anything around him. Suddenly Eddie’s call to action takes place and his journey in Heaven begins. Albom does a great job of enhancing the story with each new character, and leaves you wondering and yet wanting more and more after each chapter. By the end I think most of you will come around and learn to love Eddie and the peace of mind brought to his character. This one was a very quick read!

4. “Year of Yes” by Shonda Rhimes

I might be bias here because I love all things Shonda Rhimes – this woman is pure genius! “Year of Yes” is a wonderfully honest, hilarious, and real story of how Rhimes turned six life altering words into her best year yet. It begins with background of how she was able to work her way to being the Queen of #TGIT on ABC and transitions into when and how she realized she was incredibly unhappy. Shonda Rhimes, unhappy? She’s got it all! I know, that’s what I thought too. The book goes on to describe how she decided that for the next year she would say yes to anything (and everything) that scared the crap out of her. Her adventures range from playing with her kids for an extra 15 minutes in the morning to agreeing to be the commencement speaker at her Alma Mater. A must read for Shonda fans without a doubt!

 

 

Leave a Reply

