Remember how I said I would throw in some random ‘lifestyle’ type blogs? This is going to be one of them, but technically I did do some commuting in this whole process! For those of you who don’t already know, this week I welcomed Boomer Zues Buote into our loving family! I mean seriously, how cute is he? I couldn’t help but share a little bit about his story and how we ended up together. FullSizeRender

PAWS New England is a wonderful rescue organization with partnerships across the country. Their mission is simple “to rescue dogs who would otherwise be euthanized”. Per their website “as of 2016 PAWS New England has over 100 volunteers, all unpaid”. They continue to grow their relationships with veterinarians, transportation companies, and foster families at an incredibly fast rate. For these reasons alone – if you are in the New England area and looking to adopt a pup I would highly recommend PAWS! (Read more about what they do here).

Where did Boomer come from you ask? He was a part of the ‘Queen City liter’ who was rescued from Queen City, Texas. He was rescued along with one brother and five sisters all named after different kings and queens (before he joined our family his name was King James). They were transported to John Gagnon’s Pet Resort in Colchester, Connecticut where we could meet him at an adoption event! The two and a half hour drive each way to fall even more in love with this pup was well worth it!

I don’t know as much about John Gagnon’s Pet Resort, but the event he hosted was above and beyond awesome (full album of event picture here)! There was a handful of rescue/adoption organizations there and tons of dogs who needed homes! I was set on meeting Boomer and proving to those people that he was meant to be my dog.

Luckily for me the adoption process went quick from there! I got an email Monday saying someone should be in touch soon about my adoption application. By Wednesday afternoon I did a phone interview, that evening they contacted my references, and that night I was positive I was about to become a dog mom. Sure, enough Thursday I got the official email that I was approved to adopt Boomer and could most likely pick him up that weekend!

We finally got to pick him up from his amazing foster family on Saturday and ever since I have fallen more and more in love with this dog. I can already tell that he is going to be my best friend for many years to come. I figure what better way to show him off than to flood you with adorable puppy photos!

Leave a Reply

