I was a total slacker in March and did more binge watching than binge reading. As a result, I have a wishlist of books I’m hoping to read (or at least start) in April instead of the usual monthly roundup!

  1. Kite Runner” by Khaled Hosseini

This book is ‘old’ meaning it was originally published in 2003, but I still hear great reviews from fellow readers. The story shed’s light on a culture I am not at all familiar with, Afghan life, through the story of it’s characters. I am always open and eager to learning about new cultures, so I need to get my hands on a copy of this book!

  1.  “Boston Strong: A City’s Triumph Over Tragedy” by Casey Sherman & Dave Wedge

I think this would be a tough read. I have heard mixed reviews about the movie that was made based off the book and have yet to see it myself. What I really like about this book before even reading it is that it is written by two Boston city boys who witnessed the tragedy first hand. I imagine the story is raw, chilling, and awe-inspiring all in one.

  1. 13 Reasons Why” by Jay Asher

Netflix recently released an original series based off this book and it is totally binge worthy. I personally am seven episodes in and can’t get enough. A few people have told me this is a rare case when the show/movie is better than the book, but I think I have to find out for myself. I found a particular review that nails this book perfectly – “heavy but compelling…Asher’s novel asks us to look at how petty and cruelty can deal crushing blows” (Miami Herald).

I am ALWAYS open to new suggestions on books so please let me know if you have any I should add to my list!

Leave a Reply

